The Beginning

The first post. Always a nerve-wracking moment. I always feel like there’s a lot riding on it. Maybe that’s why I’ve put off setting up an archaeology blog for a while. But happily, here I am, ready to share my work and musings on heritage visualisation with the big wide world which exists outside of my little archaeology bubble. So welcome to my blog!

Let me introduce myself…  My name is Katrina and in some ways I’m just another archaeology and heritage student, a third year undergraduate studying at the University of York, often preaching to all who know me how amazing heritage is and how much I love what I study. In others, I’m a unique heritage and archaeology student – I know, that’s quite a statement to make! –but aren’t we all? We all have our own unique interests and passions, our own individual backgrounds, our own heritage. So I’m unique just as you are, and heritage and archaeology just happen to be one of my passions, along with Yorkshire Tea and country music. Unfortunately, I can’t sing, so some years ago I chose to pursue my love of archaeology and here I am. I’m lucky that I have a whole career ahead of me doing what I love, and this blog exists so I can take you along for the ride.

Truthfully, this blog also has an ulterior motive. As part of my third year Visual Media in Archaeology module this is going to act as a place for me to explore my ever increasing knowledge on archaeological visualisation and heritage practice. I will start off with a mini-project of my own where I will do all this exploring I speak of. My mini-project will focus on a site close to my heart, near where I grew up in Cumbria – a Neolithic stone circle known as Long Meg and Her Daughters. Through creating my own representations of the site using different forms of media, and critically reviewing visual representations which have been produced before – from antiquarians and poets to amateur filmmakers – I hope to bring greater attention to this special site. I also hope I can bridge the gap between archaeological theory and practice by applying the debates and issues in heritage visualisation to the site, in an attempt to explore and make these issues clearer.

I’m painfully aware that I’m new to this, and I’m still only taking my first tentative steps into heritage practice. Hopefully this blog will allow me to be more critical of my work and operate as a platform for reflection, as well as keeping you updated with my adventures. If you’ve made it this far then I applauded you – stick around and I will hopefully give you a small insight into the world of heritage visualisation!

Leave a Reply

